Initiatives and Activities Minimize



Learn about important ongoing initiatives
of the statewide GIS community

We Want Your Input!

 

Read more about GICC priorities and initiatives.
  

  Minimize
    

 NC OneMap Geospatial Portal Minimize
Click logo to go to the NC OneMap Geospatial Portal website
Discover North Carolina Geospatial Data
    

 Working Group for Seamless Parcels Minimize
This Working Group, under the Statewide Mapping Advisory Committee, is working on a statewide parcel data set.  In 2007 the National Academy of Sciences advanced the idea with the publication National Land Parcel Data: A Vision for the Future. The FGDC Cadastral Subcommittee furthered that process with its State Stewardship for Parcel Data report on the role and levels of stewardship for a state organization. The issues involve seamless access and consistency of parcel data across jurisdictional boundaries.  This work will build on the Content Elements for Statewide Publication of Core Geospatial Parcel Data, which was adopted by the GICC on May 11, 2005. 


Parcels Project

A project funded by an Exchange Network grant from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is complete.  The “Integrated Cadastral Data Exchange” features custom tools to transform "as is" county parcel boundaries into standard, integrated datasets, and share data services in EPA’s Environmental Information Exchange Network and with users of the NC OneMap Geospatial Portal.  More info...

Through a competitive bid process, the State of North Carolina awarded a contract to Carbon Project, Inc. for application development services.  Carbon Project, Inc. partnered with Atlas Geographic Data of Wilmington, NC and Fairview Industries of Pendleton, SC to bring specific experience with cadastral data and standards to the project. 

The Project Team includes the co-chairs of the Working Group for Seamless Parcels (including members of the NC Property Mappers Association), the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians GIS Unit, the Secretary of State’s Land Records Management Program, and the NC Department of Transportation GIS Unit.  The Project Team has guidance and oversight from the Geographic Information Coordinating Council, the Statewide Mapping Advisory Committee, and the Enterprise Project Management Office. 

Project Contacts:
Tom Morgan, WGSP co-chair
Pam Carver, WGSP co-chair
Jeff Brown, Project Manager

The Working Group is co-chaired by the Secretary of State’s Land Records Management Section, Tom Morgan, and Pam Carver of Henderson County, a member of the North Carolina Property Mappers Association.

Members
Name Organization Email
Tom Morgan (co-chair) Secretary of State – Land Records Management tmorgan@sosnc.com
Pam Carver (co-chair) Henderson Co. Land Records pcarver@hendersoncountync.org
John Bridgers Secretary of State – Land Records Management jbridgers@sosnc.com
Lucy Cardwell Currituck County lcardwell@co.currituck.nc.us
David Cline US Census Bureau david.m.cline@census.gov
Amy Durden Elizabeth City adurden@cityofec.com
Rich Elkins Pitt County raelkins@pittcountync.gov
John Farley NCDOT jcfarley@ncdot.gov
Patrick Flanagan Eastern Carolina Council pflanagan@eccog.org
David Giordano CGIA david.giordano@nc.gov
Holly Hixson US Forest Service hhixson@fs.fed.us
Eric John Wake County ejohn@wakegov.com
Christian Klaus DHHS – SCHS christian.klaus@dhhs.nc.gov
Hope Morgan Floodplain Mapping Program hmorgan@ncdps.gov
Joanna Pitsikoulis US Census Bureau joanna.c.pitsikoulis@census.gov
Alex Rickard CAMPO alex.rickard@campo-nc.us
David Wyatt Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians DAVIWYAT@nc-cherokee.com
    

 Announcements Minimize
October 2014 - LGC Newsletter Published

The importance of statewide parcel data is described in the second edition of the new LGC newsletter.

 read more ...

June 2014 - NC Parcels Project Final Technical Report

The final technical report marks the successful completion of the NC Cadastral Data Exchange project. The report has been completed and is now available. 

 read more ...

June 2014 - Parcels Now Online
Standardized parcel data for 25 counties is now available as a map service, a feature service, or as downloadable data. Visit the NC OneMap Geospatial Portal.  read more ...

June 2014 - Geoportal Adds NCDOT Web Services
More than 40 new web services from NC Department of Transportation, including rail lines and road characteristics, are discoverable through the NC OneMap Geospatial Portal. read more ...

Feb 2014 - LGC Newsletter Published

The use of statewide data in local government has been showcased in the first edition of the new GICC newsletter.

 read more ...

Feb 2014 - 2013 Imagery Online
The imagery for 25 counties in the Eastern Piedmont region is now available as a region-wide image service and for download in areas of interest. Visit the NC OneMap Geospatial Portal or watch the video to see a demo of how to access the new imagery.
 read more ...

Feb 2014 - Geospatial Portal Adds Data

The NC OneMap Geospatial Portal added more content in 2013. Watch the video to see a demo of the features or visit the geospatial portal and check it out for yourself.

 read more ...

    

Login